Nantucket Film Festival Update

Latest news from the upcoming 13th Annual Nantucket Film Festival, June 19 – 22:

  • Meg Ryan will be here to receive the first annual Compass Rose Acting Tribute Award.
  • Writer/director Judd Apatow will be on island to receive the “Suzanne and Bob Wright Screenwriter’s Tribute Award.”
  • “Transsiberian” will open the Festival, co-written by islander Will Conroy.

Executive Director Jill Burkhart and Artistic Director Mystelle Brabbée have announced that Meg Ryan will be the first ever winner of the newly established Compass Rose Acting Tribute, given to an actor who has inspired writers to create roles especially for them. Meg will also present the Adrienne Shelly Excellence in Filmmaking Award to a promising female writer/director.

Writer/director Judd Apatow will receive the Suzanne and Bob Wright Screenwriter’s Tribute Award, presented by NBC Universal. Judd Apatow wrote and directed “The 40 Year Old Virgin” and “Knocked Up”. Past tributees have been Steve Martin, Charlie Kaufman, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, Jay Presson Allen, Paul Schrader, Walter Bernstein, Ring Lardner Jr., James Schamus, Robert Benton, Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor.

The opening film of this year’s festival is writer/director Brad Anderson’s “Transsiberian”, starring Woody Harrelson, Emily Mortimer, Ben Kingsley, Kate Mara, and Eduardo Noriega. The film will be accompanied by a making-of documentary and panel discussion with writer/director Brad Anderson, writer Will Conroy, and producer Michael Williams.

Late Night Storytelling returns with hosts Anne Meara and Peter Farrelly. Participants will include surprise guests and audience members. Past storytellers have included Jim Carrey, Tina Fey, Mos Def, Rosie Perez, Laird Hamilton, Olympia Dukakis, Paul Rudd, Alan Cumming, and Brian Williams.

Morning Coffee With will be hosted by film critic Leonard Maltin.

The Festival will partner with Nantucket’s Seaside Shakespeare for a reading of the Billy Wilder classic “Some Like It Hot”.

Closing the festival will be “The Wackness”, written and directed by Jonathan Levine and starring Ben Kingsley, Famke Janssen, Josh Peck, Olivia Thirlby, and Mary-Kate Olsen.

Other films in this year’s festival include:

  • American Teen
  • Baghead
  • Choke
  • The Deal
  • Flow: For Love of Water
  • Frozen River
  • Goodbye Baby
  • Of All the Things
  • Operation Filmmaker
  • Secrecy
  • Sleep Dealer
  • Stranded: I Have Come from a Plane that Crashed on the Mountains
  • Trouble the Water
  • Wellness

The website will be up within the next few days.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: